Research School for Fluid Mechanics | TUD TUE UT RUG WUR UU

Hoogendoorn KIVI Award

The Section Mechanics of the Royal Dutch Society of Engineers (KIVI) has established two annual mechanics awards:

  • Biezeno Solid Mechanics Award
  • Hoogendoorn Fluid Mechanics Award

to distinguish young scientists who defended their thesis in mechanics in the academic year prior to the year of the award. The award in solid mechanics is named after Professor Cornelis Benjamin Biezeno, who is one of the founding fathers of solid mechanics in the Netherlands. The award in fluid mechanics is named after Professor Charles Hoogendoorn, who is one of the founding fathers of the JM Burgerscentrum. He also served as its first scientific director. The nomination procedure of the prizes is managed by the Graduate School Engineering Mechanics for the Biezeno Award and by the JM Burgerscentrum for the Hoogendoorn Award, while the selection of the prize winners is made by two independent committees. The Biezeno Award is presented to the winner at the occasion of the annual symposium of the research school Engineering Mechanics, while the Hoogendoorn Award is presented to the winner at the annual Burgers Symposium.

Call for nominations – KIVI Hoogendoorn Award 2021

Information about nominations for the KIVI Hoogendoorn Award for the best PhD thesis of fluid dynamics defended in the academic year 2020 – 2021 can be found here. The deadline for nominations is 1 October 2021. The prize will be awarded at the Burgers Symposium 2022, 8 – 9 June 2022.

Flyer Mechanics Awards 2021

Winner of the Hoogendoorn KIVI Award 2021

Dr. ir. Sina Tajfirooz, TU/e

PhD Thesis: Numerical methods for dynamics of particles in magnetized liquids

PhD Defense: 22 February 2022 (TU/e)

Supervisors: prof. dr. J.G.M. Kuerten, and dr. Ir. J.C.H. Zeegers

Winner of the Hoogendoorn KIVI Award 2020

Dr. Anouk Bomers, UT
Hydraulic modelling approaches to decrease uncertainty in flood frequency relations

PhD defense 17 January 2020 (UT)
Supervisors : Prof, Suzanne Hulscher (UT) and Dr Ralph Schielen (UT & Rijkswaterstaat)
A summary of her PhD thesis can be found here.

Previous winners of the Hoogendoorn KIVI Award

Comments are closed.